21 & Single

I don’t know, but everything around me lately is about marriage. My friends are getting married, my cousins, the things I see, the blogs I follow and the classes I attend. It is supererogatory to get married in Islam, that I believe and I won’t argue.

I am 21, and I want to get married, but I don’t think its time yet, for me anyway. Half of my society says to live single life to the fullest and don’t get settled young, the other half promotes early marriage and work together for betterment.
Both of the opinions have merits and disadvantages. Honestly the latter weighs a bit more towards my perspective and understanding.

At this moment, I’m in my second semester of my university life. The average time to graduate is 4 years, and I have about 3 and a 1/2 more to go. I’m only going to consider marriage when I’m reaching towards the end of my programme. Let’s say in my 3rd year possibly. Then, I’ll give marriage a thought. I don’t want to get married young and I don’t want to get married too old.

And IF possible, I say if because it is most unlikely for me, I’d like to have an intermarriage, across borders. That way I can kill two birds with one stone *sheepish laugh*. Think about it, I get another reason to travel – to visit my future in-laws, I get another reason to learn a new language and the same time getting married, duh. Let’s say it’s killing three birds (why kill?).

I will be busy, or making myself busy, with doing things I currently love, I will always try and work my way to be a better person, I will grab new opportunities which uni life has to offer, I will fill my mind with reading and learning, and meet new people and accept every life lessons and experiences thrown my way. Insyallah (if God wills it).

Well whatever my future is, whatever journey I will take, I pray for the best for me (y’all pray for me too), and may my future spouse be the coolness to my eyes, my parents eyes, may he emulate the way of the beloved Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, and may he walk with me side-by-side to betterment and goodness. Qul ameen (say amen)!

A girl can dream – and pray- can’t she?

Leave a Reply

